Election Criteria

We’re on the cusp of election season and I think I have a new prerequisite if a candidate wants my vote:

You must have seen all five seasons of the Wire.

I got this idea from the new Mayor of Reykjavik (the capital of Iceland), Jón Gnarr. This guy used to be a punk rocker, a comedian, and an actor, but now he’s running the show. Gnarr didn’t win a majority, but did garner a plurality. In seeking out a coalition partner he,

… ruled out any party whose members had not seen all five seasons of “The Wire.”

There it is. I’ll get my prospective ballot ready and e-mail the contestants one by one. I can’t think of any better selection criteria given the wide-spread duplicity of the average politician (i.e. I don’t trust their proclamations).

[More about Mayor Gnarr via Kottke & The NYT]

[image via Televisual]
August 13, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . Reading.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

